A Jet Set Lifestyle: Sleepy Hollow, NY

I have long been a fan of Washington Irving’s The Legend of Sleepy Hollow. Living so close to Sleepy Hollow, NY I always wondered why I never took a visit. Well this past weekend I finally decided it was time. I went to check it out.

I thought there would be a quaint little downtown with shops and restaurants but it was lacking in all of that.

A lot of the Halloween festivities didn’t start until the second weekend of the month so I unfortunately missed them. Perhaps the village is more fun then. But Sleepy Hollow itself was lacking quite a bit. I took a cemetery tour and saw “The Headless Horseman” as well as the site of where the bridge from the legend used to be.

Other than that there were some events nearby in Tarrytown and then the Great Jack-O-Lateran Blaze over in Croton-On-Hudson. The Jack-O-Lateran Blaze sells out quick and I was unable to go.

img_1943

If you are thinking of going, you certainly don’t need more than a day, if you are from out of town plan on spending the rest of the weekend visiting other sites in New England, upstate New York or in New York City.

Leave a Reply

