A Jet Set Lifestyle: My first Slow Travel/Work Exchange Part II

In my previous post I discussed how I got my first slow travel/work exchange gig. I know every place I’m sure does things differently, so I can only go based off of my experience. I arrived and checked in with reception and went to bed. The whole time leading up to the trip I was in touch through e-mail so I knew that I needed to head down in the morning to meet with the woman who would be my point of contact. I went to bed excited and a little nervous for the morning.

I came down in the AM asked for my point of contact, she told me to have breakfast and then she’d go over things. I was going to be helping out in house keeping so I spent the day shadowing her and learning all there was to know about cleaning the rooms as well as laundry and recycling.

From that point on for the month I worked every Mon – Fri from 10 AM to 4 PM with an hour break from 12 PM – 1 PM for lunch. Depending on how busy the hostel was I would sometimes work independently and sometimes in a team with another volunteer or worker.

Laundry was my favorite thing as I’d sit down there and fold while jamming out to music or having a movie on Netflix. Cleaning the rooms for the most part went okay and it only took me a few days to get used to having to clean the bathrooms. Honestly to have all my nights free and all day every day free on the weekends plus all breakfast, Mon – Fri lunch, and some dinners covered, you can beat that!

Of course some personalities of other workers were easier to get along with than others but that is in any atmosphere and the shifts were short enough that it didn’t really matter.

I also got to take 1 tour for free and got a discount on car rentals. So I rented a car for a self driven Golden Circle Tour and well as a self driven drive down to Vik and used my free tour to go horseback riding.

It was a great experience that I would suggest to those that would like to travel but feel they can’t afford to travel for long periods of time do to costs.

Leave a Reply

