A Jet Set Lifestyle: Pathway of the Gods – Amalfi Coast

In May of 2013 I went down to the Amalfi Coast for the very first time. As someone who likes to have a bit of a plan going into anything I did a search on the Goggle for things to do. One of the things that popped up was to do a hike called The Path of the Gods. The photos looked beautiful. I’m in shape enough that I figured I’d be able to get through it, and I used to hike a lot as a teen so I figured I’d give it a shot once I got there.

I was going to be in Amalfi for 2 days . Due to some delays I got in late, but figured I’d still get up and go out there the next day. I was quite tired but wanted to do it on the day I had the full day. As I missed much of my arrival day due to delays and I wasn’t sure how much time I’d have in regards to when I had to leave the next day.

So I got up and got ready to go. I was staying in Atrani and walked the 10 or so minutes to the center of Amalfi. From there I was able to catch a bus to head to the starting point for my hike. I bought a 20 oz bottle of water with me.

1009651_482502255171773_1811187462_o

The hike was pretty easy for someone that hasn’t hiked in a long time to be able to do. For much of it I was alone without other hikers near me. Sometimes I would watch up to one or they’d catch up to me but our strides and breaks would soon have us drift back apart.

994280_482502815171717_1767918561_n

The views were simply stunning. This was my first full day in Italy and if this was to be my first full fledged experience with Italy, I could not have been happier. Maybe because of how my first trip began is why I have such a love affair with Italy.

I saw the coastline, I saw farms, I saw woods, and I saw a lot of sun. The sun was hot, and very soon into my hike I had regretted my decision to not bring more water with me. There were many areas of no relief from direct sunlight pouring down on me. It was quickly becoming a dangerous situation.

970551_482503365171662_718583822_n

The hike took me about 4 hours to do and all I know is that on more than one occasion I thought that I may just give up and lie down and hope someone came by who would go on to help me. I began to curse myself for not bringing a larger water bottle. Who cares about crappy tan lines if you’re dead!

1016660_482503041838361_1180043036_n

Towards the end of the hike you have two different options. I was beginning to get dizzy and choose the one which I quickly thought was going to end in disaster but ended up probably saving my life. I could be a bit over dramatic, or I could be right on point. Either way, I personally consider myself lucky.

The path I choose took me to the 1,700 steps down which would bring me from Nocelle to Arienzo. Yes that is not a yes, 1,700 steps. When you feel like you are going to pass out from dehydration, this is not an easy feat. After a couple of flights I thought I needed to turn around and try to find an alternate route as I had heard there was one without the stairs but I could not even bring myself to get back up the few stairs I had already descended. I continued to berate myself for my poor decisions when I heard a voice say “Hello would you like a lemon squeezy?”

999380_482503681838297_1332349016_n

I was unsure what to think at first. This was a gentleman standing there by a house asking me if I wanted a lemon squeezy. First I didn’t even know what a lemon squeezy was, second I had no idea who this man was. I weighed my options die from dehydration or die at the hands of this man or finally have a lemon squeezy and live to tell the tale. I choose to try this lemon squeezy and hope for the best.

3707_482503735171625_532999912_n

Well a lemon squeezy is basically lemonade. And it was delicious! The man told me about the lemons coming from his grandfather’s lemon farm. The man ran a bed and breakfast and sold lemon squeezies to tourist taking the hike. I believe my lemon squeezy was 2.50 Euro, maybe it was less. All I know is after the mini treats that he gave me that his girlfriend made with orange from their orange trees as well as multiple re-fills of the lemon squeezy it was worth way more as it saved me from dehydration. I gave him at least 5 Euro and I told him to please take it as I had had more than my fair share.

1017593_482503751838290_427302313_n

I continued down the stairs met a super friendly gotto (cat) and then finally arrived at the bottom. I walked the rest of the way to Positano when down the stairs (yes more stairs) and practically died when I got into the ocean I was so happy.

It wasn’t easy, but that was due to my own stupidity. So I suggest everyone do it as it is gorgeous and the terrain is not that difficult to hike, but please plan accordingly. I myself would love to do it again one day. The vistas and experiences you will get are unparalleled.

1014529_483450855076913_357406758_o

You can find some good information here:

Path of the Gods

One thought on “A Jet Set Lifestyle: Pathway of the Gods – Amalfi Coast

Leave a Reply

