A Jet Set Lifestyle: My Favorite Spots Part II- La Scuna Distro- Corniglia, Italy

I recently spoke about Caffè Matteo as being one of my favorite spots in Cinque Terre. Another favorite spot of mine there is La Scuna Distro’ Corniglia.

Both times I stayed in Cinque Terre I stayed in Corniglia. Corniglia is in the middle of Cinque Terre with two villages on either side. It is technically a comune of Vernazza.  Corniglia is the only one of the five villages that is not accessible by boat. To reach Corniglia you can climb the 382 steps, or you can take the road which is usually only taken by automobiles (There is a shuttle that runs from the train to the square during the day). I personally love Corniglia the best as it is not overrun by tourists at night. There are a few hotels and bed and breakfasts options, and only one hostel. With the dark stairs and the long uphill dark road as the two options to reach Corniglia many tourist don’t come from the other villages at night. The bells ring every hour on the hour and a rooster crows in the AM. The bells ring for about a minute at 7 AM and this is usually when I wake up and start my day.

If I happen to be home in Corniglia during the mid day time frame I enjoy stopping by La Scuna Distro’ Corniglia for a “bicchiere di vino bianco”, in English that’s a “glass of white wine.” One of my favorite wines they serve there is Cinque Terre Sciacchetra by Polenza.  If I’m out exploring the other villages, I always make sure to stop by in the evening after la cena, dinner. As many places in Corniglia begin to close after la cena, La Scuna Distro’ Corniglia stays open late (as far as Cinque Terre is concerned).

11174834_907717705983557_5202860874314257248_n
Working on my Italian lessons while having a bicchiere di vino bianco at La Scuna Distro’ Corniglia in Sept. 2015

On any given day you will find Andrea or Andrea the two bar owners there behind the bar mixing up drinks, playing DJ through Spotify, or conversing with the customers. Many of the customers are friends as Corniglia is a small village of 560 people. But if you stay for more than a couple days you easily begin to feel like a regular and a friend.

I was in Cinque Terre twice in 2015, in May and September. And when I came back in September I was welcomed back as a friend.

12122412_928334917255169_7798091680924445130_n
Stopping by to say good-bye before leaving in May 2015.

If you are in Cinque Terre you can stop by La Scuna Distro’ Corniglia which is located at:

Via Fieschi 185

Corniglia

Source for information on Corniglia: Wikipedia and Transitions Abroad

Leave a Reply

