A Jet Set Lifestyle: Iceland Part III

Continued from last week’s Part II.

Monday, November 30, 2015

After 3 long nights out, I relaxed a great deal on Monday. But I knew I had my northern lights tour that night so I was excited as it seemed the sky would be clear and the lights would be active.

I have got to say, the northern lights did not look like what I thought they would. They looked like faint little wisps of clouds. I was rather disappointed in my experience. There are times when they are really active and to the naked eye you can see the greens and such as you would in photographs. But other times, most of the time, if you see them, they look like how I saw them.

As first I didn’t believe I was looking at the northern lights. But as I looked at the camera set up next to me and I looked at the photo taken, what my naked eye was seeing as white, the camera was picking up as green. So bucket list item accomplished. Even if its not how I expected. Then again, how many times do things happen in life how you expect them to? I’m am happy I had the experience as it was something I had wanted to a very long time.

Please note I did not take these photographs. They were taken by a gentleman that was on the tour with me who was kind enough to send them to me.

Tuesday, December 1, 2015

 

Tuesday to an outsider’s point of view was pretty uneventful, but from a personal perspective I had one of my favorite nights there. There isn’t much detail for me to go into, so feel free to skip the rest of this post as Wednesday was just my flight home.

Next week’s post will be about how to do Reykjavik on a budget.

I woke to see a huge snowstorm outside. My Golden Circle tour was cancelled (I’m glad  didn’t book in advance as I was leaving the next morning.) One of the guys from the hostel and I sat around and had a couple beers. He and I were the only ones left from the group.

12308175_950706475018013_5884560436822901590_o

That night I went to go meet some of my new Icelandic friends out to say good-bye. My friend that I met from New York and his friend that I had met came out. His friend invited some of his friends as well and they were all really great and fun people.

12339185_950704991684828_5620940768419593716_o

We started our night at Bravó (the bar I fell into my first night there). From there we made a quick stop at Lebowski Bar, before settling into BarAnanas for awhile and then closing the night out at Prikið. I’ve talked about all of these places in my previous two posts, so I’m not going to go into any detail on them. But being with a good group of people always makes any place wonderful.

Wednesday, December 2, 2015

12309701_950445081710819_4468118742217196426_o

One thought on “A Jet Set Lifestyle: Iceland Part III

Leave a Reply

